Stitch Class in Llanrhos Old School

In this stitch class students will learn simple stitches, that get more complex as they progress. Japanese Boro is the practice of using one stitch (sashiko or running stitch) using spare or would-be-discarded scraps of fabric and embroidery thread. It grew out of necessity in medieval Japan to beautifully repair clothes & textiles. It has evolved, four centuries later, into a textile art-form.

Sashiko can be used to repair or upcycle clothing & other textiles or to embellish fabric, particularly denim, or make unique sashiko covered buttons, bags, coasters, cuff bracelets, flags, hearts, table mats, & wall hangings.

It will run 10-12 am from Tuesday March 28 to Tuesday 30 May. Everyone should be able to complete a small project in 2 hours or get started on a bigger project. 6-10 people is a sufficient number to mingle & share ideas. Everyone can bring their own fabric scraps or something to repair, embroidery threads, a needle, scissors, a notebook & pen: Or I can provide a small project kit.

I started promoting this slow stitch class six weeks ago. I had posters made & laminated & advertised the class constantly around the town and on social media. 10 people promised to attend in this beautiful restored old schoolhouse. As it happened only 2 lovely keen ladies turned up.

Students will learn 10 types of sashiko, before moving on to other simple stitches. It is a very calming & meditative process in this fast paced world; an escape from technology, screens & noise.

I have started a group chat on WhatsApp (everything to do with stitch class & sharing photos of my sample stitch pieces, everyone’s ideas & projects).

I am a member of Art North Wales, The Textile Society and The Embroidery Guild.

I will post a few pictures here, of samples of the stitches to learn. Also look on my Facebook page, D Lawt Mixed Media Artist as well as my Instagram feed.

I really enjoyed the class & had vowed to give any profits to Hope Restored, the local homeless charity. Once I’d paid my expenses for the venue, there was nothing in the kitty. I quickly looked for another place to run the class as I didn’t want to give up, or disappoint the 2 lovely eager ladies. A third lady has promised to attend next week.

Leave a comment