From Indian Oddessy to Sultans Bed

I WANT to get my paints out and pour over my photographs to remind myself of all the  design images that hooked my interest in Jaipur. The saffron and indigo colours in Bagru textile village, flapping from rooftops whilst it dried in the sun. The hand-blocked fabrics in the village shop. Then on Holi- Day, when our group was invited to a party and threw dry coloured powder at each other. Everyone was caked in fluorescent pink, yellow, green and blue as they streaked into hair, body and clothes. I was overwhelmed by the displays  and bold colors and designs of the elephants, dancers and musicians on show at Jaipur polo ground.

Treadle sewing machine

I simply fell in love with those magnificent decorative elephants, historic buildings, architectural details and ancient textiles on display in the Pink City. I was tempted by the simple crafts made  sold by the hawkers… the natural beauty of the people around me and the vivid colours of the ladies saris. The dusty roads with camels, bullocks, pedestrians, tuk tuks brightly painted lorrys and cars …a kaleidoscope of hues.

Choki Dani

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back at home, I am designing an outside bed, fit for a Sultan, or in my case a Sultana.  I love sleeping outside in August and September where the night temperatures and a gentle wind keep  you cool. Indoors with the shutters closed to keep out mosquitoes, and my gorgeous cats in doors, it is too hot to sleep without air conditioning.

My husband made The Sultans bed to my design, which can also be used as extra seating during the day and storage underneath, all under the cool shade of the pergola that he also built. The swirling motifs on the whitewashed walls behind the bed are ideas from both Klimt and India, where I suspect he found those curling forms on henna tattoos, wall paintings and cotton saris.

vperg

Leave a comment