Decorative December

This month is flying by faster than Santa’s reindeer’s! I have  been working on finishing a number of outstanding projects, this included a small outside faux stone arch and  also embellishing a wall-hanging Autumn.

Autumn 5

I have  added more appliquéd leaves, and  also used hand embroidery with woven roses and bullion knots. Then over Christmas I practised my stitches and using the theme of ‘Air’ from the Creative Every Day site I completed ‘My Bird’

My Bird

Xmas Candle

My creativity has also drifted like snow around the house with red and gold accents in nearly every room; out went the simple dough-made xmas decorations I bought in Mexico in 1998, that I used to I hang on my tree every year.

Through my  friend Julia, I met Aislinn Knight, who was on holiday on the island, she has a MA in Fine Arts from Aberystwyth university.

The Seven Seals Aislinn Knight

Our subsequent conversations has tugged at an idea. and one my mother has been nourishing. I have been researching the possibility of working on an on-line City & Guilds textile course. When I mentioned the idea to my husband he inquired ‘why not go for a higher qualification?’ Is there such a course available  online? So far I have not found anything. There is some appeal in working  towards a significant recognisable qualification.

Well, well well, I leafed through my July issue of The Artist magazine today and followed up an advert for the Open College of Arts based in the UK, and behold there is an online BA(Hons) Creative Arts degree that has textile components. I spent the next 3 hours reading everything I could and getting more and more excited about this idea, and then going so far as asking OCA how to matriculate!

Leave a Reply

