Creative Block Gone!

Today I received Cas Holmes’ book in the post, The Found Object in Textile Art. It is every bit as inspiring as going  on one of her workshops and learning from her personally. It is oozing with small and large ideas to develop textile and mixed media art projects. 

This  morning for example, I learned  about Momigami. It is the Japanese art of distorting paper and fabric. I am sure Cas will not mind sharing her techniques. Basically you take a sheet of paper (serviettes, magazine pages, brown parcel paper, sacking, cotton handkerchief, coffee filter paper etc. Oil your hands with cooking oil, fold the corners of the paper into the middle & scrunch up. Keep scrunching & gently massaging with the palms of the hands. Open it out and spread flat. With the oil on the palms and fingers, push gently outwards from the middle to the edges to stretch the fabric or paper. Repeat the process 3 or 4 times until you have a piece you like.

The resulting piece can be used as a starting point to either paint, stitch, stamp or embellish in some way. The one below was a 3 ply paper napkin left over from a barbecue. I show the before and after photos. What you may not be able to discern with my poor quality camera is that ‘after’ using the momigami techniques the napkin looks like a piece of silk! It is quite gorgeous and I now have to decide how to use it.

Being so inspired by this process, gave me a kick start to finish the Six Sweet Hearts I had started weeks before. I used a mixture of the collographed work I made in June and the recycled materials that I collected from the local animal charity monthly sale, then I got out the sewing machine.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pavinee
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 09:02:09

    Interesting technique! The result looks lovely 🙂

    Reply

  2. Marley
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 13:50:47

    I love the idea of distortion. I will check out that book, it sounds fascinating. Thanks for the ideas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

